Dance Committee

Louis Laberge-Côté, Chair, is a Toronto-based dancer, choreographer, teacher, and rehearsal director. An acclaimed performer, he has danced nationally and internationally with over 20 companies, and has been a full-time member of Toronto Dance Theatre (1999-2007) and the Kevin O’Day Ballett Nationaltheater Mannheim (2009-2011). He has created over 60 choreographic works, which have been presented and commissioned in Canada and abroad. His work has garnered him a Dora Mavor Moore Award for Outstanding Choreography, as well as six other nominations for Performance or Choreography. NOW Magazine named him “Dance Most Valuable Player” in 2006 and “Best Male Dancer” in 2014. A sought-after pedagogue, he has taught classes and workshops all across the country and is currently on faculty at Ryerson University. He currently shares the Vice-Presidency at the Canadian Dance Assembly and is the Chair of the Dance Committee at the Toronto Arts Council.​

Norma Araiza is a Mexican performer, choreographer and instructor from the Indigenous Yoeme Nation in Sonora, Mexico. Her style blends dance, theatre, vocals, percussion, and Tai Chi Chuan with cultural and traditional themes, especially from her Indigenous background. She has performed extensively as a professional actor and dancer throughout Mexico, California, Ontario, Montreal, Hungary and Colombia. Araiza is the artistic director of Tolmec Dance Theatre, an independent Toronto-based group working primarily with culturally specific themes through the medium of dance theatre. She is also a member of various collectives promoting dance theatre events, Latin American artists, and cultural events. She completed her Master's Degree in Dance Ethnology at York University where she had taught for several years. She is a member of CADA, Dance Ontario, and Dancer Transition Resource Centre.

Amanda Hancox is the Executive Director of the Dancer Transition Resource Centre (DTRC). She is a graduate of the Arts Educational School in England and began her dance career as a member of Les Feux Follets, touring Canada, the United States, Europe and the Middle East. Amanda worked extensively for 25 years as a dancer and an actress in theatre, film and television, and is a member of both ACTRA and the Canadian Actors’ Equity Association. Amanda joined the DTRC in 2002 as Director of Administration, a position she held until her appointment as Executive Director in January 2006. She is an executive member of International Organization for the Transition of Professional Dancers (IOTPD), and Chair of the Dance Media Group (The Dance Current). Amanda has served as a juror for Canada Council for the Arts, and for the Toronto Arts Foundation’s Signature Awards in 2015. 

Roshanak Jaberi is an Iranian-Canadian, performer, choreographer and producer. She currently sits on the Pluralism Committee of the Canadian Dance Assembly (CDA) and is the Associate Producer of the award winning company Expect Theatre. Roshanak graduated from York University with an honours degree in music, and has trained with celebrated dancers, musicians and theatre artists in Canada and abroad. As an artist, she is interested in creating work that is subversive, politically charged and socially relevant. Her choreographic work is inspired by African movement aesthetics, Middle Eastern sensibilities and a feminist perspective; and has been presented in Canada, US and Europe. Since 2010, she has been a collaborator on the project Political Prisoners: The Art of Resistance led by scholar and activist Dr. Shahrzad Mojab. Roshanak served as a juror on the Dora Awards and the Toronto Arts Council, has been a guest lecturer at the University of Toronto. She was also a top three finalist for the Soulpepper Theatre Dance Awards, and is former co-host of Toronto’s Evi-Dance Radio.

Kate Nankervis is an independent dancer, choreographer and teacher. Since earning a BFA in Dance from York University in 2008, her performing has taken her across Canada, USA, Europe, Brazil and India. In Toronto, Kate has performed with Blue Ceiling Dance, Eroca Nicols/Lady Janitor, Vanessa Kimmons, Elke Schroeder, Amanda Acorn, Bee Pallomina, and Parahumans. Katheros in Motion is the umbrella for her artistic projects; her choreography has been presented nationally and internationally, and she was Artist in Residence at Earthdance in Massachusetts.  In 2014, she collaborated with Indian martial artist and contemporary dancer, Abhilash Ningappa, in Bangalore, India and Toronto. She is a co-director of the Toronto Dance Community Love- In and co-artistic director of hub 14. Kate is a recipient of the IMASCO Performing Arts Award and the Spedding Award for Choreography.

Natasha Powell is a dancer, choreographer, producer, and founding artistic director of Holla Jazz. Natasha’s vocabulary encompasses a wide range of dance styles that include hip hop, house, and vernacular jazz, and her training has led to a number of appearances in film, television and stage. Natasha is the co-producer/ choreographer for the dance-theatre production Gimme One Riddim; the recipient of the 2014 DanceOntario Dance Weekend Commission Award; and Board member for Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists. As a producer, Natasha has worked for a number of arts organizations, including the Young Centre for the Performing Arts and ManifesTO Festival for Community and Culture. Most recently she was the Manager of Producing and Administration at the Dance Umbrella of Ontario, working with a number of dance organizations where her portfolio included event producing, marketing, fundraising and communications.